Despite the fact that I’ve only started this blog a day ago, I’ve decided that in order to avoid monotony, I am going to do something other than ranting. When people read my blog, I not only want to laugh (either at my jokes or my incompetence) but see why I get so upset when bad music is popular. I want my readers to understand my passion in music. So these post will be me reviewing and talking about artist and albums I like or dislike. They may not be very long but I hope you enjoy them.

First up is Tori Amos.

 

Tori Amos (born Myra Ellen Amos) was one of several female singer/songwriters who combined the stark lyrical attack of alternative rock with a distinctly ’70s musical approach, creating music that fell between the orchestrated meditations of Kate Bush and the stripped-down poetics of Joni Mitchell. In addition, she revived the singer/songwriter traditions of the ’70s while re-establishing the piano as a rock & roll instrument.

Here is my review for her solo debut, Little Earthquakes

The album opens up with the very dark  yet interesting Crucify. With its haunting melody, piano beautifully chiming during the chorus, and Tori Amos’s unapologetic lyric’s about religion this song is well worth a listen. It easily flows into two of the best tracks on the album Girl and Silent all these years. Both songs seem to share similar themes as they are both about women in relationships in which they’ve lost their voice and are now trapped in them. Girl has a much more theatrical feel to it with its stomping drums and dramatic violin. Silent all these years has a more simplistic approach with its production even though it is essentially featuring the same instruments.

The softer Silent all these years is a great contrast to the next track, Precious Things, that is anything but soft. Everything from the  banging Piano, to the thumping drums, to the mysterious breathing effect seem to be smashing down to create a very driving beat. It’ sounds very angry and since the song is written about adolescence angst, it fits perfectly. Tori’s writing is the strongest we’ve seen to this point including one of my favorite lyrics written by Ms. Amos, “Just so you can make me cum, doesn’t make you jesus.” It’s my second favorite track on the album only tied with the next song, Winter. With its twinkling piano and delicate violin, this is Winter is a beautiful song.

Playing off the very somber tones of Winter, Happy Phantom features a very playful piano and jumpy beat as Tori sings about the possibilities of the afterlife. The next track leading right back in the somber tones is China.  It reminds me of Winter but only musicality wise. Lyric wise, the song is surprising straightforward which is rare in any Tori Amos song, even an early 90’s one.

The production gets toned down for next two tracks Leather and Mother as they feature Tori and her piano with no backing instruments. Leather seems to use to piano to get a more rough and somewhat sinister effect making it an enjoyable listen. While the latter track uses it to get a more somber tone and this works to an even greater effect then Leather. While the six-minute running time may seem a little intimidating at first, its well worth repeat listens. The piano seems to be telling its own story as well. One moment it’s quiet and lullaby like, while at another moment its very dramatic and make’s it’s presence known.

The next track is the acoustic guitar dominant Tear in your hand. This song is almost like a cousin to Happy Phantom but I think this one is superior. Tear in your hand with its sharp hook and clever lyrics makes it one to listen to over and over again. The next song though, is the best song on the entire album, and there isn’t even any musical accompaniment. Tori sings about her REAL life rape experience a capella in the most beautiful song I’ve ever heard. It’s hunting, it’s upsetting, it somewhat strangely comforting, it’s everything I imagine a victim of rape must go through. This song literally made me cry the first few times I heard it. The hunting lyrics and the pain in her voice just rip right into your chest and grab at your heart.

The final track is the very eclectic title track. While it isn’t one of my favorites, it’s enjoyable none the less and is worth at least a few listens.

Overall what would I recommend Little Earthquakes? Yes!!! If your a fan of artist like Fiona Apple or Joni Mitchell or especially Kate Bush, you’ll love this album as much as I did!

Thanks for reading!